TIMELAPSE MOTION CONTROL KESSLER VS. DYNAMIC PERCEPTION

Hey Tim Cash Oregon Filmmaker here!
over the last few days..after seeing some amazing videos done with timelapse and motion control setups by Kesslercrane and Dynamic Perceptions. I’ve been about to press BUY IT NOW from both. but i cant seem to make up my mind. here’s why
KESSLER offers an amazing setup and the fact that it works with almost all their sliders is awesome. the track only goes 5 ft. which didn’t seem to matter till I saw this video.

MANHATTAN IN MOTION

he used a 10 ft. rail that went easily with the Dynamic Perceptions model. BLEW ME AWAY! and the price is under $900 . Kessler’s cheapest route is still in the 2-3,000 range.
I do love Kessler though. I also own the 18ft. Kessler Crane and absolutley love it! its changed my life and career for sure.

That brings up the issue with the Dynamic Perceptions model. it can realy only be used for timelapse! and as my wife said. I’m not allowed to buy anything thats for a hobbie! She says timelapse shooting is a hobby ad doesnt pay the bills especially when you add it to your FREE stock fotage website SLAMSTOCK

So thats where I’m at! they are both awesome products. one is cheaper but more limited and the other has many options and you can build on it. but quite a bit more to get you in.

About Tim Cash

My name is Tim Cash. I am a low-budget filmmaker living in Oregon. join me as I test out new gear from Canon DSLR's to our 18ft. Kessler Crane and our cheap shitty dolly I want to throw off a cliff and much much more. we'll be talking about everything in the creative process.
This entry was posted in gear review, Rants, Tim Cash and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TIMELAPSE MOTION CONTROL KESSLER VS. DYNAMIC PERCEPTION

  1. Since you have the Crane already why not just get the Shuttle pod and ORACLE controller. I guess if you don’t have the right crane then that might be a problem.

    • yeah I want something a bit more simple to set up and it seems more like a fix not necessarily a great option. plus where the pieces bind together maybe an issue for shake rattle and roll! thx Matt

  2. Nick says:

    I teach at a university and I bought the department a Dynamic Perception Stage One slider system. What I do enjoy about the stage one is the ability to add rails–increasing the length. However, additional rails can rack up cost and it easily becomes a lot of equipment to carry. I have been looking at the Kessler system and from what I can see, the Kessler looks like a better setup. The stage one has too many wires, different motors and not the options Kessler has. The motion control for Dynamic Perception is hard to navigate and seems very cheap. Looking at the new Kessler control system, the interface looks easier to control and has a built in flashlight along with a magnet to keep the box held in place. I find myself stacking the dynamic perception control unit on top of the battery with velcro so it doesn’t fall–Kessler seems to have solved this. Do not get me wrong, the dynamic perception slider is a great piece of equipment, but I just think the kessler setup looks easier to work with. Now with the new parallax bar setup and an easier pan tilt motor for kessler, I find it hard to stay with dynamic perception.

Leave a Reply

