Advertising is 99% of filmmaking

Hello Everyone! Tim Cash Oregon Filmmaker here to talk to you about Advertising.
Without Advertising there are no gigs. without gigs…well I guess its a hobby. So its very important to brand yourself to be successful! I’ve been lucky enough to stumble through this world and learn as I go. Looking back now I was subconsciously branding myself where ever I went. Enjoy our blog show and one thing I’ve done to brand myself. thx again for paying attention!!

If you are bored please checkout my other website FARfromEARTH Films

and don’t forget we are giving away FREE STOCK FOOTAGE HERE

About Tim Cash

My name is Tim Cash. I am a low-budget filmmaker living in Oregon. join me as I test out new gear from Canon DSLR's to our 18ft. Kessler Crane and our cheap shitty dolly I want to throw off a cliff and much much more. we'll be talking about everything in the creative process.
This entry was posted in Professional Work, Rants, Tim Cash, Tutorial and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Advertising is 99% of filmmaking

  1. Pingback: OREGON FILMMAKER TIM CASH READS HORIWOOD.COM « Horiwood's Blog

  2. vidworx says:

    The people that find your Ad on your car, what sorts of jobs do you get from them?
    Are they just random people or are they people which see your car at a certain shoot and are actually already searching for a videographer?

    Thanks

    • Tim Cash says:

      thanks for commenting. I find that more than anything it just helps with the branding of my name. people see the web address and go there and see what i do. it brings more traffic to the site. bringing up my google ranking and visibility. not sure if I’ve actually gotten a gig from it. maybe in a round about way. thx again for all your comments!!

  3. vidworx says:

    You say that advertising is 99% of film making. How much do you advertise and does it really work?

    What other things have you found useful?

    Our company is new and we haven’t done that much advertising yet.

    • Tim Cash says:

      thanks for commenting! the only advertising I’ve spent money on was the van wrap. it cost about $600. as far as other stuff. I have 2 blogs, 2 youtubes,2 vimeos, multiple facebook pages and a website. when I finish a project I upload it to everything. and send to a few magazines, newspapers and blogs. but all this helps with the viewership. as far as the gigs. it seems word of mouth is the best. once I reached a certain amount of music videos it legitimized me and I became in demand. and these days I turn away more than accept. another thing I’ve found its not just how good of a filmmaker you are but how you get along with people. in the end the client is always right! no matter what! and when they are paying you. they are paying you to capture their vision. and that is very important. people will always come back to a person they like and get along with over a better filmmaker thats power hungry, has an ego and thinks they know it all.
      hopes this helps! thx again for all your commets

Leave a Reply

