The $20 Dollar Light Kit

Hey Everybody! Tim Cash Oregon Filmmaker here to talk about lighting…..again. There are a million and one ways to light a scene from simple, elegant and easy to extreme, difficult and complicated. As I started doing tutorials I realized not all of my followers have expensive lights and or can afford them. So I headed down to Lowes and bought $20 dollars worth of lighting gear to see exactly what I could do with near nothing. This lighting tutorial is the result! I really hope you enjoy! thanks again everyone for watching and reading. Please comment and send me your show ideas!

Please checkout my other sites at: FARfromEARTH Films & Slamstock (our FREE Stock Footage website)

About Tim Cash

My name is Tim Cash. I am a low-budget filmmaker living in Oregon. join me as I test out new gear from Canon DSLR's to our 18ft. Kessler Crane and our cheap shitty dolly I want to throw off a cliff and much much more. we'll be talking about everything in the creative process.
This entry was posted in Canon 5D, gear review, Lighting, Tim Cash, Tutorial and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The $20 Dollar Light Kit

  1. vidworx says:

    Nice work. I liked the results you were getting with those lights. I especially like the back ground light you’ve used. It’s such a important light and people and even I leave out from time to time.

    What lens were you using on your 5d?

  2. vidworx says:

    This is nit picking but you could have used a reflector on the right to weaken the shadow on your nose from the strong light. I do think a bit of shadow is nice though.

    • Tim Cash says:

      thanks so much for commenting. definitely could have,you are right! but for this tutorial I was aiming at people who have nothing to work with. a reflector would have turned the light kit into an $80 kit so I want to show how cheap and simple it can be. I myself have tons more toys to play with than most and there seems to be a niche in the DIY tutorials. thx again so much for commenting.

  3. vidworx says:

    Thats cool. I’ve gotten pretty good stuff with the 50mm 1.8.
    I shot this on that lens.

    Excuse the sound, our business was really new then and we had horrible sound gear. But it wasnt a paid gig.
    You know the best way to make a cheap reflector? Grab some aluminium tape and stick of on a flat cardboard. It’ll work just was good as a reflector you can buy from the shops and it’ll probably cost about $10-$15.
    They can be really good for making huge reflectors for big projects too!:)
    Thanks!

  4. Angelo says:

    Reblogged this on Worlds with Words and commented:
    Here’s a very informative post for the no-budget filmmaker. I know that with 5D and High Def cameras, $500 sound setups and $250 home made dollys and jibs most filmmakers people don’t talk about no-budget, because it kinda sorta may not exist. But I got my start making short films with cast, crew and decent stories with NO money, except what I paid for my Canon GL2 or XL2 cameras. This information is helpful

  5. marc lougee says:

    hey Tim,
    Great post, awesome video. You’ve inspired me to start thinking seriously about doing video posts, swell. Well shot, nice placement. Cool to see the set up– simplicity itself.

    Spread some of the hare brained goodness I’ve got– lots to go around. Looking forward to more– and that 50? Beautiful Thing. Thanks for the 411 on that. Nice to see how it’s working for you.
    Cheers, M

  6. Great lighting, Tim. I even liked that shadow on your nose that some of the people here objected to. Never expected 60 watt bulbs do such a good job. The CU shot of you looks like million $$ – 50mm lens works magic in your hands.

Leave a Reply

