The “Not So Easy” Art of Music Video Making

Tim Cash Oregon Filmmaker here! This week for me has been a bit of a stressful one! I’ve been prepping for 5 music videos all to be shot this week. 4 of which are for Canadian artist Pennan Brae. And 1 for reggae superstar Anthony B and northwest local Essential I. The prep involved for the 4 Pennan Brae shoots has been extra difficult with tons of props,locations and one is even a 1920’s b&w silent film style; so throw period piece in there as well. One of the videos is to be shot in a local strip club but do to some scheduling issues is now up in the air as they are looking for an employee to look over the place while we’re shooting.and ofcourse no one wants to work on Sunday morning especially in a strip club. so I’m crossing my fingers at this point. Alot is riding on that one employee. I’ve got over a 1,500 dollars in talent and props invested in the day and at this point it might not happen. Argghh!

The other 3 Pennan Brae videos seem to be set in stone and ready to rock.

As far as the Anthony B video, well thats a whole other story. Anthony B is famous in the reggae world and is on tour right now. Its hard for him to give us a time when he is available, which I totally understand. So for the past few days its been a scheduling issue as we only get one chance. Shooting in Portland on Saturday. but dont know when. could be a night shoot(lights and generators…more setup time)…could be a day shoot(hoping for). Both would require different locations and another crux: we may only have Anthony B for 15 minutes. double arghhh! Also been trying to arrange some extras(Portland Ocuppiers) but not knowing when the talent is going to be available makes it hard to schedule tons of extras holding picket signs. Its hard to give a video production value when you have no idea when or how long. and I’ve gotten to work in this situation a few times before so I am a bit familiar. but I never get used to it!

All that said, I’m super thankful for my life as a Music Video Director and the opportunities I’ve had to work with such incredible talent. Sometimes it can just get a little stressful.

here are 3 examples:

2009: Swedish Grammy Award Winner Promoe on the left with the red scarf. we had him for 15 minutes

2010: Italian Reggae Sensation Alborosie: maybe had him for a hour and a half between 2 cities in total

2007: waited outside Kymani Marley’ tour bus for 2 hours at a festival for 2 minutes with him.

About Tim Cash

My name is Tim Cash. I am a low-budget filmmaker living in Oregon. join me as I test out new gear from Canon DSLR's to our 18ft. Kessler Crane and our cheap shitty dolly I want to throw off a cliff and much much more. we'll be talking about everything in the creative process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The “Not So Easy” Art of Music Video Making

  1. @holdencalgary says:

    Great blog! About to shoot an in-studio session with a singer and guitarist. Wondering what kind of challenges lie ahead…

Leave a Reply

