The Week in Review: 4 Music Videos in 4 days w/ Pennan Brae

What do I say! Tim Cash here! Oregon Filmmaker. I promised to give you all the dirt, well here’s how it went. First off didn’t find out till the last minute but the Anthony B music video shoot was cancelled! Bummer! I had already spent that money on some new gear but whatever. onward and forward!

On Saturday the 21st Pennan Brae arrived in Bend Oregon from Vancouver BC. to shoot 4 music videos in only 4 days. I spent a few weeks prepping and most everything was going pretty easy. Except for one place. Our “Blind Love” video takes place in a strip club but the only one in town isn’t getting back to me. Eventually I got through just days before the shoot and greased the palm of the manager’s hand with some more Benjamins. that Money was already spent but whatever. and luckily the shoot went off without a hitch. We had some amazing and ridiculously hot dancers in Nicole Minteins and Stephanie Gilstrap. They did a great job and I havent seen bikinis that small since 60 minutes did a special on that Brazilian beach town.
Anyway, We were in and out in 4 hours and had a great time. My intern Kylee nailed it on the props and was super organized. That was her first shoot with FARfromEARTH Films. I went home after the shoot and prepped for the following day. Printed my notes. and started compressing the footage. and went to bed.

day 2; I woke up at 6 and in 2 hours had edited a rough cut of yesterdays video for Pennan Brae to see. Pennan Brae “Fling” music video shoot. I think this was my favorite of the 4 videos. before and after we shot it. I’ve never had the chance to try a Black & White Silent film style before but always wanted to. We poached the location till the owner came over but turned out to be super-nice ad was really excited about us being there. which really surprised me considering we had to open and close a gate to sneak in. Anyway, AWESOME! we had a wonderful shoot. great actors and the whole nine! I shot all the singing sequences to a 75% slowed down version of the song. then sped the footage up to 150% to match. this also gives the old film look of the early 20th century stuff where the film moved through the projector at faster speeds. I thought the shoot was a super success! I love the one-location music videos. again we were in and out in 4 hours. Headed home downloaded footage charged batteries and prepped for the following days shoot.

day3:The worst day by far but still a success. I could do no Right! “The Forgotten Man” is a music video dealing with the effects of alzeimers. We were set to film up on Awbrey Butte in Bend Oregon. As I drove towards the location the snow got wetter and wetter and eventually got to the point where I couldn’t get up the hill to the location. Luckily my grip Rob Slaney was towing the piano for the singing shots behind his huge 4 wheel drive truck and I was able to put most equipment in his trailer. off we headed a half an hour late. Talent would be arriving in a few minutes and we don’t have anything setup at all. Big wet flakes were coming down and Rob had to setup the crane outside while I began setting up lights inside. We had so much natural light coming in I just decided to fill with 2 250’s w/ blue gels and balance for daylight. Then POP! A light blows and I realized just how much I needed it. So I spent the next 20 minutes trying to pry what was left of the light out of the can with a heavy set of plyers. It was frustrating. If I had more lights I coulda just popped another in there. Plus I’ve been wanting to pick up 3 Arri 150’s they are great for beaming in small bursts of light from a distance. By this point Rob had the crane ready for our window shot. and I realized as soon as i looked through the monitor it wasn’t going to work. I needed a polarizer to cut through the glare of the window. add that to the wishlist. We moved inside and shot our big scene and our actors nailed it and really had me tearing up. We wraped the location and eaded to a park i bend right on the deschutes in downtown. we got our feet soaked in standing water getting our crane and a heavy piano to the spot to film. I setup my shot and ad suddenly the crane monitor went dead. I thought it was the moisture and just couldnt seem to a get a signal from camera to the monitor. I got livid at this point and began to throw what psychiatrist would call a bit of a tantrum. We flew blind for a few shots then wrapped it up and went home.

note: in real weather you can always get the most epic shots but almost always you have gear malfunctions. thats just te way it is when you mix electronics ad wet weather.

day 4: The “Signs” music video shoot. Had the chance to sleep in a bit on the 4th and last day. On this one my beautiful wife Yuvia Storm would be playing the starlet along side Pennan Brae. We headed east into the high desert. setup the crane in a giant sagebrush flat ad started filming. we got some amazing stuff right off the bat and everything was going just perfect. one little thing wet wrong. the crane! again! not so much the crae but the little HDMI to mini-HDMI cable seems to be having an issue. same problem as yesterday but we’ve now troubleshot it to this one little cable from BEST BUY! Add tat one to the gear list and we are set. We wrapped this one just after sunset and headed home with excitement welling up to edit!

So thats pretty much it. It was a pleasure to work with Pennan Brae again. and we plan on doing more projects together in the near future! I’m deep in the editing session now and will be posting the videos to the blog here very soon. Stay tuned to for my first motion timelapse test. thanks everyone for following!

On location at Jim’s Junction outside of Redmond Oregon shooting “Fling” music video

Me with my talented actors for the “Fling” music video

On Location in Bend Oregon for “The Forgotten Man” music video shoot

My grip Robert Slaney and I On location in Millican Oregon for the “Signs’ music video shoot

About Tim Cash

My name is Tim Cash. I am a low-budget filmmaker living in Oregon. join me as I test out new gear from Canon DSLR's to our 18ft. Kessler Crane and our cheap shitty dolly I want to throw off a cliff and much much more. we'll be talking about everything in the creative process.
This entry was posted in Lighting, Professional Work, Tim Cash and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Week in Review: 4 Music Videos in 4 days w/ Pennan Brae

  1. VIOLETA says:

    Nice to hear what goes on behind-the-scenes of a music video. Thanks for the post. Already saw one video… Can’t wait for the other 3. 🙂

Leave a Reply

