prepping for the new Mini-Soundstage

Hey everyone! Tim Cash Oregon Filmmaker here! I’ve dreamt for many years of having my own studio to shoot in. Something big enough for full body green,black,white screen shooting and a grid to hang lights from. Typically I rent from another company in town who has a great spot for shooting. but I shoot so much that it doesnt make since for me to rent a studio anymore. Plus I want to be able to shoot in a studio at the drop of a hat. As well as for personal projects where i don’t have a budget for a studio. When I did the math it would cost me the same to build my own studio as it would to rent one for 20 days.
Oh yeah and ofcourse think about all the room we’ll have for future Oregon Filmmaker blog shows and more involved lighting techniques.
So there you go! we start excavating in the next week and hope to get a slab in before the California Music Video tour. then return and spend all of April building it!

Well the future has come and today we started clearing the site! I’m so lucky that my grip Robert Slaney is an accomplished builder and craftsman and is working with me on my vision for this 500 sqft. mini-soundstage! Plus I get to learn how to frame and be his assistant! so that works for me!

Mini-Soundstage will go to the right of the lounge & edit bay

About Tim Cash

My name is Tim Cash. I am a low-budget filmmaker living in Oregon. join me as I test out new gear from Canon DSLR's to our 18ft. Kessler Crane and our cheap shitty dolly I want to throw off a cliff and much much more. we'll be talking about everything in the creative process.
This entry was posted in Rants, Tim Cash and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to prepping for the new Mini-Soundstage

  1. Congratulations Tim, that’s a great move!

  2. Rob Osmond says:

    Awesome; can’t wait!

    • Oh, and don’t forget – having a studio is not just about having a studio to use it yourself – you can offer it for hire to cover some costs 🙂 You can turn it into an asset!

      • Tim Cash says:

        Yes definitely! my very good friends own the other soundstage in town so I don’t want to compete with them but yes. maybe for lower end projects! thx so much for commenting Rumena!

Leave a Reply

